Walterboro City Council Regular Meeting February 24, 2015

## **MINUTES**

A Regular Meeting of Walterboro City Council was held at City Hall on Tuesday, February 24, 2015, at 6:15 P.M. with Mayor Bill Young presiding.

**PRESENT WERE:** Mayor Bill Young, Council Members: Jimmy Syfrett, Paul Siegel, Tom Lohr, James Broderick and Judy Bridge. City Manager Jeff Molinari, City Clerk Betty Hudson, and City Attorney George Cone were also present. Sixteen (16) persons were present in the audience. Council Member Bobby Bonds was absent.

There being a quorum present, Mayor Young called the meeting to order. Council Member Syfrett gave the invocation and Council Member Lohr led the pledge of allegiance to our flag.

### **PUBLIC INPUT ON AGENDA ITEMS:**

No comments or questions were received on agenda items.

#### **APPROVAL OF THE MINUTES:**

The Minutes of the February 10, 2015 Regular Meeting were approved as submitted upon the motion of Council Member Bridge, seconded by Council Member Broderick, with all members voting in favor. Council Member Bonds was absent and did not vote.

At this point, Mayor Young stated that Council Member Bonds was out of town on business and unable to attend the meeting tonight.

### **OLD BUSINESS:**

There was no Old Business before Council.

#### **NEW BUSINESS:**

1. <u>Proclamation # 2015-01</u>, A Proclamation Recognizing the 50<sup>th</sup> Anniversary of the University of South Carolina Salkehatchie, was approved as submitted on the motion of Council Member Siegel, seconded by Council Member Lohr, and passed unanimously. Council Member Bonds was absent and did not vote.

With Ms. Jane Brewer and Dr. Ann Carmichael standing by on half of USC Salkehatchie, Mayor Young came forth to read the proclamation in its entirety into the record and then presented it to Dr. Carmichael. A copy of said proclamation is attached as part of these minutes.

2. <u>Consideration of Funding Recommendations from the Accommodations Tax</u> Advisory Board

Next, City Manager Molinari advised Council that the Accommodations Tax Advisory Committee met on February 19<sup>th</sup> and approved two requests for A-tax funding, which were:

Requests for 65% Tourism Fund Walterboro-Colleton Chamber of	Requested	<u>Approved</u>
Commerce Turkey Trot & St. Patrick's Day		
Run/Walk	\$10,000	\$ 8,000
Walterboro Tourism Advertising Campaign	<u>\$20,000</u>	<u>\$10,000</u>
Total 65% Requests	\$30,000	\$18,000

Walterboro City Council Regular Meeting February 24, 2015

# MINUTES/Page II

A motion was made by Council Member Broderick, seconded by Council Member Bridge, to approve the funding recommendations of the A-Tax Advisory Board as submitted. The motion passed with all members voting in favor, except Council Member Bonds was absent and did not vote.

### 3. <u>Consideration of a Parade Permit Request by Mr. Horace Simmons, Community</u> <u>Action Line Against Violence</u>

Mayor Young then entertained a motion to approve the request. Council Member Lohr made a motion to approve the parade permit request as submitted by Mr. Horace Simmons. Council Member Siegel seconded the motion. All in favor. None opposed. Motion carried. Council Member Bonds was absent and did not vote.

When asked by Mayor Young if he wanted to speak on this request, Mr. Horace Simmons told Council the request was the same as usual. I thank all of you for allowing this. This is something that we wanted to do. This year, we will be at Hampton Street Auditorium and we expect some people from the Beaufort Military Institute to come in. That's why we are having it in that place, so we will have enough room to accommodate them. We are expecting a lot more.

A brief discussion was held on whether the march would end at the Artisans Center or the Hampton Street School (now Colleton Center). Mr. Simmons agreed that the march would end at the Hampton Street School (now Colleton Center).

4. <u>Acceptance of Resignations of Barnwell Fishburne, Accommodations Tax</u> <u>Advisory Board, and Eduardo Dominguez, Economic Development Commission</u>

A motion to accept the above resignations with regret and appreciation for their service was made by Council Member Broderick, seconded by Council Member Bridge and passed unanimously. Council Member Bonds was absent and did not vote.

# **CITY MANAGER'S REPORT:**

1. City Manager Molinari then introduced Ms. Michelle Strickland, as the City's new Tourism Director. He announced that the City began the process of looking for a new director back in the fall. Michelle's first day on the job will be Monday, March 2, 2015. As you are aware, she comes to us from the Press and Standard. She has already gotten started and is working with Donna to ensure that we have a seamless transition. We are very excited to have Michelle onboard.

# **COMMITTEE REPORTS:**

There were no Committee Reports given.

## **EXECUTIVE SESSION:**

The Mayor then entertained a motion to enter an Executive Session. Council Member Syfrett So Moved and Council Member Lohr seconded the motion that passed unanimously. Council Member Bonds was absent and did not vote. The Mayor announced that the meeting will convene into an Executive Session for a personnel matter - boards and commissions appointments, and a discussion of a proposed purchase of property.

The meeting then entered into an Executive Session.

Walterboro City Council Regular Meeting February 24, 2015

# MINUTES/Page III

At approximately 7:15 P.M., a motion was made by Council Member Lohr, seconded by Council Member Bridge, to exit Executive Session and return to Open Session. All in favor. None opposed. Motion carried.

The meeting returned to Open Session and a motion was made by Council Member Broderick to reappoint all of the boards and commission incumbents who have indicated they would like to continue to serve another term. Council Member Bridge seconded the motion. All in favor. None opposed. Motion carried. Council Member Bonds was absent and did not vote. The reappointments were as follows:

### Accommodations Tax Board

Amar Patel was reappointed for a 3-year term.

### <u>Building Board</u>

Charles Brightwell was reappointed for another 4-year term. Thomas Berry was reappointed for another 4-year term.

### **Board of Zoning Appeals**

Travis Godley was reappointed for another 3-year term. Dandi Daniels was reappointed for another 3-year term.

### **City Appearance Board**

Helen Bodison was reappointed for another 4-year term.

### **Economic Development Commission**

Peden McLeod was reappointed for another 4-year term. Marvin Jones, III was reappointed for another 4-year term.

## **Historic Preservation Commission**

Mary Corbett was reappointed for another 2-year term. Linda Godley was reappointed for another 2-year term.

## **Planning Commission**

Greg Pryor was reappointed for a 4-year term.

#### **Tree Protection Committee**

Michael Ferrari was reappointed for another 2 year term. Harris Beach was reappointed for another 2 year term.

There being no further business, a motion to adjourn the meeting was made by Council Member Lohr, seconded by Mayor Young and passed unanimously. Councilman Bonds was absent and did not vote. The Mayor adjourned the meeting at 7:16 P.M. Notice of this meeting was distributed to all local media and posted on the City's website and the City Hall bulletin board at least twenty-four hours prior to meeting time.

Respectfully,

Betty J. Hudson City Clerk

APPROVED: March 24, 2015